Witness my solitude

When you do something scary or stressful — bungee jumping, public speaking, etc. — do you prefer to be surrounded by friends or by strangers? Why?

I love my freedom. It helps me pursue the things I want with optimal stress. I try not to maximize it by getting into silly arguments with people who want me to back out of things I’m already committed to do. Let’s face it, there’s very little someone can do if you know what you want to. That means I like doings certain things alone.

Never had an experience with bungee jumping till date. But it does make sense to have people around. We want to bask in the glory of our success. Wouldn’t be a jump if there’s no selfie in this narcissistic world now, would it? It is also comforting to have people around if you fail. A jump that high… are you kidding me? You are a goner if things go south (unintended pun intended).

About that public speaking bit… It doesn’t make sense to have a public speaking encounter alone. It’s supposed to be public, man. get a grip. You have to ensure that people witness you. Especially, in case of public speaking. It’s their absence that should alarm you. So yeah, witness me witness you witness me.

That went a bit more positive than anticipated. I don’t want that. Let’s try something new…. Look, at the end of the day, we are all going to be alone. This tedious walk we are taking on this rock will last however long it may. That’s pretty uncertain. But what’s certain is the fact that in the end, we all die alone. Be it surrounded with witnesses around a bed or while bungee jumping or when you are walking alone in the rain. it’s just a fact.

On that note, good morning to the people who woke up. And sweet dreams to people who are about to go to bed. I’ll see you tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Witness my solitude

  1. So true. It doesn’t matter how many people in our lifetime will witness us because in the end, it doesn’t matter how much we crave for attention, we will be left alone..whether anyone likes it or not.

Leave a Reply

